Tags

, , ,

A couple of weeks ago I got this email.

“For ages you have come and gone
courting this delusion.
For ages you have run from the pain
and forfeited the ecstasy.
So come, return to the root of the root
of your own soul.

Although you appear in earthly form
Your essence is pure Consciousness.
You are the fearless guardian
of Divine Light.
So come, return to the root of the root
of your own soul.

When you lose all sense of self
the bonds of a thousand chains will vanish.
Lose yourself completely,
Return to the root of the root
of your own soul.

Rumi”

13th century Persian poetry is certainly a unique way to contact someone. Except I don’t really know how to respond the 13th century poetry. And neither the message or his profile gives me much to go on aside from the fact that he loves gingers (his profile title says so). Being unique is good (for the most part), but when starting out a blind conversation with a stranger, some degree of personal information or a question about the person to get the conversation started is a good thing. If you walked up to a girl at the bar or coffee shop and just said that to her, with nothing after to explain it, to introduce yourself, or to follow it up, she would prob think you were weird and walk away from you.

When I didn’t respond to his last email he sent me this:

“Last call for us hooking up. Ponder it seriously for two minutes and then either:

A. Embark on a physical, mental, metaphysical journey with me, exploring the human pleasure receptors and how to stimulate them simultaneously

B. disengage with silence

Bradley

ps I am as serious as a heart attack, and man enough to take you there.”

Is that a wanna hook up email? Because that’s what I take it to be. When poetry fails, immediately offer sex to a girl. Because both aren’t socially weird in the context presented. This time I did tell him no thank you. And I blocked  him so no future sex or poetry can be offered.

Next!

